Breaks from Writing

I’m on the computer a lot this week. When I’m writing, I tend to sit in the kitchen where the light streams through several windows and write in long hand. Then I type it up, make changes on the computer, print up and edit again…then this week, I’m typing in all the changes. I hate this part of the process, my head is heavy by the end of the day and sometimes I want to scream!!
It’s time for a break.
So, this is where dancing comes in. Being in the head all day, sitting on a chair, I need to move and let the mind go.
This week, had Tap on Monday, lots of stamping to great music, Tuesday, Samba and Samba Reggae to uplifting tunes, followed by partner dancing in Cuban Salsa, lots of laughter in all these classes too, a great relaxant, and then last night, watching the Birmingham Royal Ballet perform Romeo and Juliet. A great story, the setting and costumes, strong and impressive and evocative of Italy and families, church and heat. The two leads, well matched. Their conflict, universal. The end, tragic. A classic. Smatterings of humour a must in a tragedy, and they were there too. The choreography brought out the humour and the pain of the story, absolutely superb dancing. Transported for the night.
And today…at the computer. Refreshed.

Leave a Reply

