Rejection Letters

All writers receive them at some point. Usually, they just say ‘Sorry, no, not suitable for our lists. Good luck etc.’

I have just received one of those rarities. A rejection letter that gives details. So thanks to the literary agent, Jane C-G for a thoughtful letter: It helps.

‘Dear Ruth,

I am so sorry I haven’t been in touch with you sooner about your submission of your novel, EROSION. It literally got caught under something big but I had read it and was in two minds about it. Although I think it’s very nicely written and rather good, I think it may be a bit too small beer to interest a publisher. I do hope you can find an agent who disagrees with me and takes it on. Publishers are so obsessed with ‘blockbusters’ or books that reading groups will like or the supermarkets will take, that they aren’t keen on ‘quiet’ and sensitive stories.

Thank you anyway…..I hope actually that someone has already taken you on.

All best wishes,

Jane’

And small praise from an agent of this caliber is praise indeed. Believe me.

William Blake for Cloud Play

Leave a Reply

